The Rev. Martha Kirkpatrick, Rector

Martha came to St. Barnabas’ from St. Margaret’s Episcopal Church in Belfast, Maine. She made a mid-life vocational change, coming to ministry from a government career in environmental protection.

From 1999 to 2003 she was the Commissioner of Maine’s Department of Environmental Protection. She received her Master in Divinity from Harvard Divinity School in 2007.  Besides parish ministry, she has a passion for environmental stewardship.

Sister Cassandra Norsworthy, Pastoral Assistant

Sister Cassandra has been a member of the Anamchara Fellowship since 2004. At St. Barnabas’ she has a particular ministry to the sick and homebound. She is also a Stephen Minister. Cassandra, a native of Virginia, has served in several leadership posts both in the Diocese of Southern Virginia and in the Diocese of New Jersey. She is retired from a varied secular career, including work as a paralegal in real estate title and escrow.


Michael Larkin, Director of Music Ministry

Dr. Larkin directs the Chancel Choir and Renaissance Quire and serves as a coach and consultant to the Cherub and Seraphim Choirs. During his tenure at St. Barnabas’ Dr. Larkin has expanded the repertoire of the choirs, greatly enhancing the worship experience. He has arranged and composed music especially for the St. Barnabas’ choirs to perform.

Dr. Larkin is the chairperson of the Vocal/Choral Department, and the artist faculty voice teacher with distinction at the Wilmington Music School. Dr. Larkin conducts the Select Choral Ensemble and Delaware Youth Symphony and is the founder of the New Ark Chorale.


Beth Winward, Parish Administrator

Since 2007, Beth Winward has been the Parish Administrator at St. Barnabas’. Beth is a native of Delaware, and the proud mother of two adult children. When she is not working for the parish, she enjoys traveling and the beach.


Young Tyler, Sexton



George Karney, Rector Emeritus

Rector of St. Barnabas’ from 1990  to 2000.


Vestry members are responsible for the temporal affairs of the church.  St. Barnabas’ vestry members are:

Craig Brosi
Andres de Cos
Alan Irwin
Beth Jefferson
Stephen Kingsberry, Junior Warden
Maria LaValle, Clerk of the Vestry
George McDowell, Senior Warden
Allan Okuniewski
Ed Rowles
David Walker
Marian Weir
Lydia York

Greg Taylor, Treasurer
Deborah McGonigal, Recording Secretary

to Top